default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
Not you?||
Logout|My Dashboard

WilCo assistant DA appointed to governor's council

Font Size:
Default font size
Larger font size

Posted: Wednesday, July 31, 2013 12:05 pm

Williamson County Assistant District Attorney Geoffrey Puryear is one of the eight members appointed to the Crime Victims' Institute Advisory Council.

Gov. Rick Perry announced the appointment on Thursday.

Puryear is a former assistant district attorney for Travis County. He is a member of the State Bar of Texas, Travis County Bar Association and Texas District and County Attorneys Association.

Puryear received a bachelor's degree from Texas State University and a law degree for the Texas Tech University School of Law.

“It is an honor and a privilege to serve on the Crime Victims Advisory Council. As a prosecutor, I am charged with seeking justice.  On the front of the Williamson County Justice Center, a sign reads, ‘Justice Isn’t Served until Crime Victims Are.’  This is an exciting opportunity to continue to represent and serve victims of crime in Williamson County and the State of Texas," Puryear said.

Ana Estevez, Ann Matthews, Stephanie Schulte, Jane Shafer, Mark Wilson, Stefani Carter and Robert Duncan will join him.

The seven members will advise the Crime Victims' Institute on the impact of crime to victims, society, and relatives and guardians based on study of information; and will assist the institute in developing policies to prevent the victimization of society by crime.

Estevez of Amarillo is judge of the 251st Judicial District Court in Potter and Randall counties. She is a member of the State Bar of Texas, Texas Bar Association and Texas Supreme Court Advisory Committee.

She is also a board member of the Ronald McDonald House of Amarillo and an advisory board member of the Texas State University Health Sciences Center Laura W. Bush Institute for Health.

Matthews is from Jourdanton and is a licensed professional counselor and mediator in private practice. She is a member of the Texas Criminal Defense Lawyers Association, San Antonio Bar Association and Texas Counseling Association.

Schulte is from El Paso and is a registered nurse at Sierra Medical Center, a certified nurse educator, adult and pediatric sexual assault nurse and former certified sexual assault nurse examiner.

She is a member of the American Association of Critical Care Nurses and president-elect of the Texas Association Against Sexual Assault Board of Directors. She was reappointed to the council.

Shafer is from San Antonio and is a community services supervisor for the San Antonio Police Department. She is a member of the Texas Council on Family Violence and San Antonio Volunteer Administrators Association. She is also a facilitator for the San Antonio Task Force Against Elder Domestic Violence.

She was also reappointed to the council.

Wilson is from Brandon and is a police sergeant and supervisor of the Fort Worth Police Department Recruit and Advanced Training Unit. He was also reappointed the council.

Carter of Dallas is the Texas state representative for District 102. She serves as a legislative member and was also reappointed the council.

Duncan is from Lubbock and is Texas state senator for District 28. He serves as a legislative member to the council.

  • Discuss

Welcome to the discussion.